≡ Menu

Copa del Rey Final Postponed

Copa del Rey Tickets

The Copa del Rey final between Athletic Club Bilbao and Real Sociedad has been postponed from its scheduled date of 18 April.

The Spanish FA confirmed the postponement of the eagerly anticipated fixture on Wednesday afternoon with suggestions that 30 May is the likely date for the final, which is to be played in the Cartuja stadium in Seville.

It was unanimously agreed that fans must be able to attend this fixture and that playing behind closed doors was therefore not an option.

There are a series of complications with arranging this fixture but the fluid situation of the coronavirus causing mass disruption in sport means little is certain at this stage.

Spanish football is at odds with how to best deal with the virus – La Liga president Javier Tebas has ruled out postponing matches unless they receive an update from medical experts on the spread of the disease, but all football outside of the top two divisions has been suspended for a fortnight by the Spanish FA.

There have been calls from several clubs and the AFE Spanish Players Union to postpone matches altogether if the games are to be played behind closed doors.

It follows on from a La Liga statement earlier on Tuesday that all matches in the nation would be played behind closed doors for the next two weeks.

The league is following protocol from the Spanish Council of Sports that all sporting events – both professional and non-professional – be played behind closed doors.

It follows similar measures in Italy (where no sport is now being staged due to a lockdown until early April) and France, while measures are in place across a number of other nations

Common Copa del Rey Questions
What does Copa del Rey mean in English?
The Copa del Rey (English: King’s Cup) is an annual football cup competition for Spanish football teams. Its full name is Campeonato de España – Copa de Su Majestad el Rey (Championship of Spain – Cup of His Majesty the King), and is commonly known as La Copa.

Who has won the Copa del Rey the most?
Barcelona is the most successful club in the competition, winning their fourth consecutive and 30th overall title against Sevilla in the 2018 final held at the Wanda Metropolitano. Athletic Bilbao have the second-most titles. The current title holders are Valencia.

When was the Copa del Rey first played?
The competition was founded in 1903, thus making it the oldest Spanish football competition. The teams that participated were Madrid FC, FC Barcelona, Club Español de Foot-Ball, New Foot-Ball de Madrid and Club Bizcaya (a team made up of players from Athletic Club and Bilbao FC) which eventually defeated Barcelona in the final.

How many teams compete in the Copa del Rey?
115 teams compete in the Copa del Rey. The first round draw contains the names of 16 La Liga clubs plus 105 teams from lower divisions. The only top-flight sides not included in the first-round draw are the four teams who are involved in the new, four-team Spanish Super Cup. These clubs are given a bye until the last 32 as part of their involvement in the

Who has scored the most Copa de Rey goals?
Surprisingly the answer is not someone called Messi or Ronaldo. The Copa del Rey all-time top goalscorer is Pedro Telmo Zarraonandía Montoya, known as Telmo Zarra with 81 goals. Telmo Zarra spent the majority of his career at Athletic Bilbao, from 1940 to 1955, for whom he remains the top scorer in competitive matches with 335 goals.